New Zealand Education - Think New Logo

Institute of Technology or Polytechnic

Wellington Institute of Technology
Wellington Institute of Technology logo

Graduate Diploma in Cybersecurity (Level 7)

This course is available


Level of Study

Graduate Certificate or Diploma


1 year

Next start date

Expected Jul 2023


Wellington Institute of Technology


Launch your cybersecurity career with the skills used in the industry. Gain an in-depth understanding of security in the tech world to design secure systems and assess cyber threats. Learn in a supportive environment from industry experts.

Programme outline

The aim of the Graduate Diploma in Cybersecurity (GDipCS) is to create a set of information technology professionals who have the ability to think about information security and assurance within an enterprise system, and know how to integrate security policy, practices and technologies into an operational infrastructure.

More detail about this qualification

The Graduate Diploma in Cybersecurity is a 120 credit programme with two compulsory and thirteen available elective courses. To graduate from the Graduate Diploma in Cybersecurity, students need to complete at least five courses at level 7 (including the two compulsory courses, CS7501 and IT7502) and three other elective courses at levels 5, 6 or 7.


Compulsory courses

  • IT7502 – Digital Ethics
  • CS7501 - Information Security III
  • IA7307 Cryptography and Security Mechanisms

Elective courses

Level 5

  • IT5504 - Information Security I
  • IT5506 - Introduction to Networking

Level 6

  • CS6501 - Information Security II
  • CS6502 - Linux System Administration
  • CS6503 - Digital Forensics
  • CS6504 - Cryptography and Blockchain Fundamentals

Level 7

  • CS7503 – Network Fundamentals for Information Assurance and Security
  • CS7504 – Security for DevOps
  • CS7505 – Incident Response and Digital Forensics
  • CS7506 – Cloud Security
  • IA7308 – Security Testing and Network Defence

Career options

Graduates of these qualifications will have the skills and knowledge to work in the IT industry in a range of roles such as security consultant, security analyst, security administrator, incident analyst, incident handler, information assurance analyst, security assessor/auditor, security engineer, penetration tester, digital forensic analyst, network forensic analyst, malware analyst, security developer or other information/cybersecurity-related support roles e.g. service desk.

Entry criteria

Bachelor degree or equivalent practical, professional or educational experience in the IT industry.

English Language Requirements: IELTS 6.0 overall with no sub-score less than 5.5; TOEFL Internet-Based Test (iBT) - Score of 60 (with a writing score of 20); Cambridge English Test - FCE with a pass at Grade B or Pearson Test of English (Academic) - PToE (Academic) score of 50; New Zealand Certificate in English Language (NZCEL) - Level 4 with the Academic endorsement.

Studying in NZ

Border reopeningPlan your study experience

Share this course

Share this course